Links from MAC talk on participatory archives

If you were among the lucky (?) people in the audience today, here, as promised, are the links to the sites I mentioned in my talk. If you are one of the millions of people who were not there, these are the sites I mentioned as examples of participatory archives. I know there are a great many others, so I apologize if  I left out one of your favorites. I’m happy that there is an overabundance of riches when it comes to choosing examples on this topic. (At least examples that meet the criteria I use.) I’ll probably be posting my slides to SlideShare soon, or I may post them here on the blog so I can add the explanatory text that would help make some of them comprehensible. (Here’s a post about the talk I gave on this topic at the 2011 SAA Annual Meeting.)

Here are the links:

What’s on the Menu http://menus.nypl.org/

Old Weather http://www.oldweather.org/

Waisda? http://woordentikkertje.manbijthond.nl/

NYPL Map Warper  http://maps.nypl.org/warper

Remember Me (US Holocaust Memorial Museum) http://rememberme.ushmm.org/

Africa Through a Lens (National Archives UK collection on Flickr): http://www.flickr.com/photos/nationalarchives/collections/72157625827328771/

Your Archives (UK): http://yourarchives.nationalarchives.gov.uk/index.php?title=Home_page

Our Archives (US) http://www.ourarchives.wikispaces.net/

Creating Your Community http://www.creatingcommunities.denverlibrary.org/

Library of Virginia CW 150 Legacy http://www.virginiamemory.com/collections/cw150

Vintage Toronto on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Vintage-Toronto/256041347799190

Rave Archive http://ravearchive.com/

Archive Team http://www.archiveteam.org/index.php?title=Main_Page

Stereograminator http://stereo.nypl.org/

Pittsburgh Mapping and Historical Site Viewer http://peoplemaps.esri.com/pittviewer/

Invisible Australians http://www.invisibleaustralians.org/

Transforming Classification http://blogs.archives.gov/transformingclassification/

Kickstarter -Locus Photo and Emphemera Archive Project: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2040521099/locus-photo-and-ephemera-archive-project?ref=live

Kickstarter – Project Gado: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1889549817/digitize-the-afro-american-newspaper-using-open-so?ref=live

 

 

Be Sociable, Share!

One thought on “Links from MAC talk on participatory archives”

  1. Thanks for the links–I was one of the lucky ones at the MAC conference, and another lucky one to be absorbing the book, “A Different Kind of Web.” While that book addresses internet “space” and ways to commune and participate within the virtual world(s) we create together and join, I am wondering if there are people out there working on Reading Room 2.0 projects and brainstorming.

    If roles and relationships are changing, how is that reflected in our bricks and mortar spaces? Or how, ideally, could we envision those spaces today based on our current users and the digital ether most of us are swimming in at the same time (and almost as fluidly) as we breathe the air.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.